Click main image below to view enlargements and captions.

History, Internationall, Flags of Nations, North & South America, Watercolor, c. 1950s


[Flags of the Nations of the Organization of American States]
American: c. 1948-1959
Gouache on illustration board
15.75 x 16.5 inches, image
19.75 x 20.25 inches, overall

Illustration art of flags of the 21 founding members of the Organization of American States (OAS), arrayed in an arc above a globe depicting a map of the Western Hemisphere. The OAS charter was signed in 1948 by the following nations: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela. Since then, Canada and other former British Commonwealth countries have joined. The U.S. flag has horizontal rows of eight stars each; thus, the artwork was created prior to 1959, when Alaska and Hawaii gained statehood. Indeed, it may be presumed that it was created about the time of the formation of the OAS in 1948.

Condition: Generally very good with the usual overall light toning, wear, soiling expected for working illustration art. Glue residue from former matting in margins, can be rematted out.

Additional information


20th Century